Skip to main content
Menu Menu Close
Asia and the Pacific
Western Asia

Bhutan - January 2024

Tshering Tobgay elected prime minister
Election flag

Bhutan held the fourth parliamentary election in its democratic history on 9 January. Former Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay’s People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won 30 of the 47 National Assembly seats, with Bhutan Tendrel Party declared as the opposition party and securing 17 seats. Initially, five parties participated in the election, three of which were eliminated in the primary round held on 30 November 2023. Voter turnout decreased to 65.6 per cent from 71.46 per cent in the 2018 election. The drop coincides with the withdrawal of postal ballot facilities for Bhutanese residing overseas last year, as well as other cost-cutting measures such as reduced polling stations and officials amid post-pandemic economic considerations. The number of women elected decreased to two (4.3 per cent) from seven in the previous election. International observers praised the election for its free and fair conduct.

Sources: Election Commission of Bhutan, International IDEA (1), International IDEA (2), Keunsel, Foreign policy

See all event reports for this country