Synthèse : État de la démocratie dans le monde en 2019

Faire face aux maux et raviver la promesse
365
This publication is available in print and electronic format
Published: 
17 December 2019
Language: 
français
Pages: 
40
ISBN: 
978-91-7671-280-1 (Print)
ISBN: 
978-91-7671-281-8 (PDF)
Available Languages:

La démocratie est menacée, et sa promesse a besoin d’être ravivée

La valeur ajoutée, la viabilité et l’avenir de la démocratie font l’objet d’une contestation inédite dans l’histoire moderne. Si les quarante dernières années ont connu une remarquable expansion de la démocratie dans toutes les régions du monde, ces dernières années ont été marquées par le déclin du tissu démocratique, dans les anciennes comme dans les jeunes démocraties. Malgré le fait que l’idéal démocratique continue à mobiliser les gens partout dans le monde, sa mise en pratique a désenchanté et désillusionné nombre de citoyens et citoyennes et de défenseurs de la démocratie.

La démocratie s’érode dans différents cadres et contextes. Les nouvelles démocraties sont souvent faibles et fragiles. Les démocraties plus anciennes ont du mal à garantir un développement socio-économique équitable et durable. Les pays affichant d’excellentes performances démocratiques sont de moins en moins nombreux et doivent lutter contre la montée de partis populistes, dont les revendications sont aussi bien excluantes que méprisantes à l’égard des principes démocratiques.

Malgré les défis, les transitions démocratiques continuent à se produire dans des régimes politiques qui semblaient résolument antidémocratiques. Les aspirations démocratiques populaires continuent à s’exprimer et les valeurs démocratiques sont défendues partout dans le monde. Malgré les difficultés, la grande majorité des démocraties se sont montrées résilientes. Les données montrent que les démocraties sont plus susceptibles de produire les conditions nécessaires au développement durable que les non-démocraties ou les régimes hybrides, à quelques exceptions près.

Cette synthèse de la publication d’IDEA International intitulée État de la démocratie dans le monde en 2019 : Faire face aux maux et raviver la promesse résume les principaux résultats du rapport, tant au niveau mondial qu’au niveau régional. La publication fait un bilan de santé de la démocratie dans le monde et identifie les tendances démocratiques encourageantes ainsi que les principaux défis de la démocratie. Elle s’appuie sur les données des indices de l’état de la démocratie dans le monde (EDdM) et sur les enseignements tirés de l’assistance technique d’IDEA International sur le terrain pour mieux comprendre le paysage démocratique actuel. Il a aussi pour but d’informer les stratégies, programmes et interventions politiques qui visent à renforcer la démocratie.

Contents

Introduction

1. Cadre conceptuel

2. Principales constatations à l’échelle

3. Principales constatations à l’échelle régionale

4. Considérations politiques

Quelques références bibliographiques

À propos d’IDEA International

Related Content

Jan
14
2020
The Swedish Diplomatic Training Programme visit to International IDEA Headquarters. Image credit: Lisa Hagman, International IDEA.

The Swedish Diplomatic Training Programme visit to International IDEA Headquarters. Image credit: Lisa Hagman, International IDEA.

News Article
Jan
09
2020
Dr Kevin Casas-Zamora, Secretary-General of International IDEA during the launch of the Global State of democracy Report in Washington, DC. on 13 December 2019. Image credit: Inter-American Dialogue@Flickr.

Dr Kevin Casas-Zamora, Secretary-General of International IDEA during the launch of the Global State of democracy Report in Washington, DC. on 13 December 2019. Image credit: Inter-American Dialogue@Flickr.

News Article
Dec
10
2019
International IDEA's Martin Brusis and Prof Peter deSouza discusses the GSoD at the Bali Civil Society and Media Forum, one of the sessions at the 12th Bali Democracy Forum. Image credit: International IDEA

International IDEA's Martin Brusis and Prof Peter deSouza discusses the GSoD at the Bali Civil Society and Media Forum, one of the sessions at the 12th Bali Democracy Forum. Image credit: International IDEA

News Article
Aug
23
2019
House of Representatives counting.

House of Representatives counting. Image credit: AEC media image library.

Commentary

Summary: The Global State of Democracy 2019

Addressing the Ills, Reviving the Promise
6,687
This publication is available in print and electronic format
Published: 
19 November 2019
Language: 
English
Pages: 
40
ISBN: 
978-91-7671-264-1 (Print)
ISBN: 
978-91-7671-265-8 (PDF)

Democracy is under threat and its promise needs revival.

The value, viability and future of democracy are more contested now than ever before in modern history. While the past four decades have seen a remarkable expansion of democracy throughout all regions of the world, recent years have been marked by declines in the fabric of both older and younger democracies. The idea of democracy continues to mobilize people around the world but the practice of existing democracies has disappointed and disillusioned many citizens and democracy advocates.

Democratic erosion is occurring in different settings and contexts. New democracies are often weak and fragile. Older democracies are struggling to guarantee equitable and sustainable economic and social development. The share of high-quality democracies is decreasing and many of them are confronted with populist challengers.

At the same time, democratic transitions occur in political regimes that seemed staunchly undemocratic and popular democratic aspirations continue to be expressed and defended around the world. Despite the challenges, democracy has proven resilient. Democracies have also shown, with some exceptions, to provide better conditions for sustainable development.

This Summary of International IDEA’s publication The Global State of Democracy 2019: Addressing the Ills, Reviving the Promise outlines the key global and regional findings of the report. The Global State of Democracy (GSoD) 2019 Report provides a health check of democracy, identifying encouraging democratic trends as well as the key challenges to democracy. It draws on data from the GSoD indices and lessons learned from International IDEA’s on-the ground technical assistance to understand the current democracy landscape. It aims at informing strategies, programmes and policy interventions in support of democracy.

Contents

Introduction

1. Conceptual framework

2. Key global findings

3. Key regional findings

4. Policy considerations

Selected references

Related Content

Apr
24
2020
Image credit: International IDEA

Image credit: International IDEA 

Commentary
Apr
14
2020
Image credit: Talha Atif@Unsplash.

Image credit: Talha Atif@Unsplash. 

Commentary
Apr
09
2020
Freeway coronavirus warning on California.  Image credit:  Russ Allison Loar

Freeway coronavirus warning on California. Image credit:  Russ Allison Loar

Commentary