L’impact de la pandémie de Covid-19 sur le constitutionnalisme et l’État de droit dans les pays d’Afrique du Nord

Rapport analytique du webinaire, 30 juin 2020
1,619
This publication is only available in electronic format
Published: 
19 October 2020
Language: 
français
Pages: 
19
Available Languages:

La pandémie de COVID-19 a exacerbé la situation socio-économique fragile dans les pays d’Afrique du Nord, aggravé les problèmes existants et posé de nouveaux défis pour la démocratisation dans la région. Alors qu’une grande attention a été accordée aux conséquences de la maladie à COVID-19 sur les processus électoraux, son impact sur le constitutionnalisme et l’État de droit dans les pays d’Afrique du Nord a reçu relativement moins d’attention.

C’est dans ce contexte que l’Institut international pour la démocratie et l’assistance électorale (IDEA International) a organisé, en partenariat avec le département des Affaires politiques de la Commission de l’Union africaine (CUA), un webinaire sur le thème de l’impact de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur le constitutionnalisme et l’État de droit dans les pays d’Afrique du Nord (Algérie, Égypte, Libye, Maroc, Mauritanie, République sahraouie et Tunisie).

Le webinaire s’est fondé sur deux principes: premièrement, la nécessité de considérer le constitutionnalisme et l’État de droit en fonction de leurs objectifs ultimes, c’est-à-dire garantir le respect des droits et libertés fondamentaux des citoyens aussi bien en temps normal que dans les situations d’exception; deuxièmement, l’adoption d’une perspective holistique qui permet de prendre en compte non seulement les droits civils et politiques mais aussi les droits économiques et sociaux des citoyens dans le contexte de la crise du COVID-19 dans les pays concernés.

Contents

1. Introduction

2. Cadres juridiques et procédures de mise en oeuvre des mesures d’exception

3. Impact des mesures d’exception adoptées

4. Transformer la crise en opportunité

5. Conclusion

Related Content

Aug
18
2022

The Minister of Empowering of Women H.E. Ndeye Saly Diop DIENG with other women leaders in Senegal. Image Credit: UN Women/Yulia Panevina

News Article
Aug
17
2022

Image credit: UN Women/Ryan Brown, Flickr

 

News Article
Aug
01
2022

Tunisians shout slogans during a protest against the referendum on a new constitution in Tunis, Tunisia, 23 July 2022 [Mohamed Messara/EPA-EFE]

Commentary

The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated the fragile socio-economic situation in the countries of North Africa, compounded existing challenges and created new challenges to democratization in the region. While much attention has been paid to the question of the consequences of COVID-19 for electoral processes, its impact on constitutionalism and the rule of law in the countries of North Africa has received relatively less attention.

It is against this backdrop that the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) organized, in partnership with the Department of Political Affairs of the African Union Commission (AUC), a webinar on the subject of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on constitutionalism and the rule of law in the countries of North Africa (Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, the Sahrawi Republic and Tunisia).

The webinar was based on two premises: first, the need to consider constitutionalism and the rule of law in terms of their ultimate goals, i.e. to guarantee respect for the fundamental rights and freedoms of citizens in both ordinary and extraordinary situations; second, the adoption of a holistic perspective that enables the consideration not only of civil and political rights but also of the economic and social rights of citizens in the context of the COVID-19 crisis in the countries concerned.

Details

Publication date
24 August 2020
Number of pages
18

Contents

1. Introduction

2. Legal frameworks and implementation procedures for emergency measures and regulations

3. Impact of the emergency regulations and measures adopted

4. Turning the crisis into an opportunity

5. Conclusion

Annex

Give us feedback

Do you have a question or feedback about this publication? Leave us your feedback, and we’ll get back to you

Send feedback

The Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Constitutionalism and the Rule of Law in North African Countries

Analytical report, Webinar, 30 June 2020
Total views 4625
Downloads 2
Rating
Close tooltip