Back to overview

Democracy champions honoured in Dominican Republic

November 20, 2014

The Central Electoral Board (JCE) of the Dominican Republic celebrated a gala event in Santo Domingo, 11 November, acknowledging the contribution of different individuals to the development and consolidation of democracy, and the institutionality of the Dominican Republic over the past few decades. With this event, the JCE hopes to motivate more public-spirited actions so that citizens may enjoy a stronger, more participatory democracy with public freedom and social justice leading to a stronger society in the country.

International IDEA regional director for Latin America and the Caribbean, Daniel Zovatto Ph.D., received an award in appreciation of his commitment and continued support to the strengthening of democratic institutions over the past 25 years. His work has included supporting the Central Electoral Board, the Superior Electoral Court, and the political parties of the Dominican Republic.

Roberto Rosario Márquez, president of the JCE, said the organization was pausing its daily activities to express the country’s appreciation of 10 distinguished personalities who have continuously dedicated their resources and wisdom to build, strengthen and safeguard democracy, making contributions that are worthwhile of significant honors; “In addition, we draw attention to their actions, which should not go unnoticed because of their transcendent importance,” said Márquez. The event was attended by Margarita Cedeño de Fernández, vice-president of the Republic, in representation of president Danilo Medina; Cristina Lizardo, president of the Senate; Milton Ray Guevara, president of the Constitutional Tribunal, and Mariano Rodríguez, president of the Supreme Electoral Tribunal.

Others to be acknowledged included Cardinal Nicolás de Jesús López Rodríguez; José Joaquín Puello Herrera, Ph.D; Frank Rainieri, businessman; Licelot Marte de Barrios, president of the Accounting Chamber, Ph.D; Rafael Molina Morillo, director of El Día newspaper, Ph.D; Monsignor Agripino Núñez Collado, rector of the Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra; and José Luis Corripio Estrada (Pepín), businessman and president of Grupo Corripio. Also honored were Professor Celsa Albert, director of the Continuing Education Unit of the Universidad Católica de Santo Domingo; and Adriano Miguel Tejada, director of the Diario Libre newspaper.

Close tooltip