Electoral system family




Oman, Royal Decree No. 86/97 regarding the Council of Oman (December 16, 1997), accessed 20 December 2023

The Shura Council consists of representatives of the Sultanate's states who are selected as follows:

A- Each state nominates four of its citizens if its population is thirty thousand people or more, two of whom are chosen for membership in the Council.

B- If the population of the state is less than thirty thousand people, only two are nominated, one of whom is chosen for membership in the Council.

C- A statement shall be issued by the Minister of the Interior to classify the states according to their population, in coordination with the relevant authorities, sufficiently before the start of the nomination procedures.

The Minister of Interior shall also issue, by decision, a regulation containing the controls and procedures for nomination.


Close tooltip