Electoral system for national legislature



  • BV
  • FPTP

Niue, Constitution (1974), accessed 26 July 2023

Article 16 (2) The Niue Assembly shall consist of –

(a) The Speaker; and

(b) Twenty members to be elected by secret ballot under a system of universal suffrage in the following manner –

(i) Fourteen members, each of whom shall represent a village constituency, shall be elected by the electors of that constituency;

(ii) Six members shall be elected by the persons qualified to be electors of Niue voting on a common roll, which, for the purpose of electing those members, shall comprise the rolls of the several village constituencies.

Close tooltip