Electoral system for national legislature




The text of the final agreement between the Ministry of Interior and political parties [Sep 27, 2022]; accessed 30 May 2023

IFES, Election FAQs: Mauritania, Legislative, Regional, and Local Elections, May 13, 2023; accessed 30 May 2023

Mauritania, CENI, Results; accessed 28 May 2023


The 176 members are elected by the following methods: 125 are elected from single- or multi-member electoral districts using either the two-round system or proportional representation; in single-member constituencies candidates require a majority of the vote to be elected in the first round and a plurality in the second round. In two-seat constituencies, voters vote for a party list; if no list receives more than 50% of the vote in the first round, a second round is held, with the winning party taking both seats. In constituencies with three or more seats, closed list proportional representation is used, with seats allocated using the largest remainder method. The Mauritania diaspora gets allocated four seats, with this election being the first time Mauritanians in the diaspora are able to directly elect their representatives. The remaining 51 seats are elected from three nationwide constituencies, also using closed list proportional representation: a 20-seat national list, a 20-seat women's national list and a new 11-seat youth list.

Close tooltip