Electoral system family




The Republic of Vanuatu, Representation of the People Act (1982, last amended in 2017), accessed 15 March 2020

Schedule 5 (Election Rules), rule 10(2)(b): “ Immediately on receipt of the ballot papers and envelope a voter shall ... (b) record his vote by placing the ballot paper bearing the name and symbol of his chosen candidate in the envelope.”

Schedule 5 (Election Rules), rule 21(2): Subject to subrule (3) the number of candidates counting down from the candidate who obtains the highest number of votes in order of the votes obtained that equals the number of seats allocated to that constituency shall be declared elected.

The Republic of Vanuatu, VEO, ELECTORAL SYSTEMS, accessed 15 March 2020

“Vanuatu has 52-member unicameral national Parliament, which is elected using a combination of Single Non-Transferable Vote (SNTV) in multiple-member constituencies and First Past the Post (FPTP) in single member constituencies. In both systems, candidates run as individuals for parliamentary or provincial council seats in their constituencies. Voters cast their vote for one candidate. The candidates with the most votes win the seats. There are 18 national constituencies, six of which are single-member and 12 being multiple-member (from two to seven members).”

Close tooltip