Electoral system for national legislature




Tonga Election Commission’s website:

“For the purpose of the election of representatives of the people, the Kingdom shall divide into 17 electoral constituencies and for each constituency there shall be elected one representative of the people.

The Electoral System does not allow political parties but candidates are standing as individuals for each of the 17 electoral constituencies. Election of members is conducted under the simple majority voting system of 'First-Past-the-Post' (FPTP) where the candidate with the most votes is elected.”

RNZ, Polls in Tonga open for 2021 election, published on 18 November 2021, accessed 22 November 2021

Close tooltip