Electoral system for national legislature



List PR

Nicaragua, Constitution 1987 (as amended in 2014), accessed 11 November 2021

ARTICLE 132. Legislative Power is exercised by the National Assembly through delegation and by the mandate of the people. The National Assembly is composed of ninety members (diputados) and their alternates elected by universal, equal, direct, free, and secret suffrage through the system of proportional representation. In accordance with what is established in the electoral law, twenty national members are elected and seventy members in the departmental and autonomous regions. […]

Close tooltip