Electoral system for national legislature

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)



27.—(1) The Falkland Islands shall be divided into two constituencies, Camp and Stanley.

Camp shall return three elected members to the Legislative Assembly and Stanley five elected members and the members shall be elected in such a manner as shall be prescribed by Ordinance.

Electoral Ordinance 1988 (Ordinance No. 21 OF 1988) as published on 31 July 2017, accessed 11 November 2021

127 Declaration of result

(1) In a contested election, when the result of the poll has been ascertained the returning officer shall forthwith declare to be elected the candidate or candidates to whom the majority of votes have been given, and shall as soon as possible publish the name or names of the candidate or candidates elected and the total number of votes given to each candidate, whether elected or not, together with the number of rejected ballot papers under each head shown in the statement of rejected ballot papers. […]

Close tooltip