Electoral system for national legislature



List PR

ODIHR, Needs Assessment Mission Report, Czech Republic Parliamentary Elections, 8-9 October 2021, accessed 4 September 2021

“The 200 members of the Chamber of Deputies (MPs) are elected for four-year term under a proportional system with regional open lists in each of the 14 districts that correspond to the country’s administrative regions. To enter the Chamber of Deputies, political parties or movements have to pass 5 per cent nationwide electoral threshold, while coalitions of two parties have to gather 8 per cent of valid votes and coalitions of three parties need to obtain 11 per cent.”


The electoral reform of 2021 has changed the thresholds. The English versions of the amended legislation is not available online. Thus, we used a secondary source. 

Close tooltip