Electoral system family




Singapore, Elections Department of Singapore (ELD), Parliamentary Elections, accessed 13 July 2020

“Our Parliament is single house and comprises three types of MPs. They are:

Elected MPs;

Non-Constituency MPs; and

Nominated MPs.

Elected MPs form the bulk and are elected at an election on a one-man-one-vote system based on simple majority.”

Singapore, Elections Department of Singapore (ELD), White Paper on the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (13 March 2020), accessed 13 July 2020

“The Committee recommended the adoption of 31 electoral divisions, comprising 14 Single Member Constituencies and 17 Group Representation Constituencies, with a total of 93 Members of Parliament to be returned.

The recommended electoral divisions are:

Single Member Constituencies

(1) Bukit Batok

(2) Bukit Panjang

(3) Hong Kah North

(4) Hougang

(5) Kebun Baru

(6) MacPherson

(7) Marymount

(8) Mountbatten

(9) Pioneer

(10) Potong Pasir

(11) Punggol West

(12) Radin Mas

(13) Yio Chu Kang

(14) Yuhua

Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs)


(1) Bishan-Toa Payoh

(2) Chua Chu Kang

(3) Holland-Bukit Timah

(4) Jalan Besar

(5) Marsiling-Yew Tee

(6) Sengkang


(1) Aljunied

(2) Ang Mo Kio

(3) East Coast

(4) Jurong

(5) Marine Parade

(6) Nee Soon

(7) Pasir Ris-Punggol

(8) Sembawang

(9) Tampines

(10) Tanjong Pagar

(11) West Coast”

Singapore, Elections Department of Singapore (ELD), Candidates with greatest number of votes, (13 July, 2020), accessed 13 July 2020

Close tooltip