Electoral system for national legislature

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka

List PR

Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, The Constitution (as amended up to 15th May 2015), accessed 30 May 2020

Articles 98, 99, 99A


196 members are elected from multi-member electoral districts using List PR (the D'Hondt method with open lists). Additional 29 members to be declared elected on the basis of the total number of votes polled by the respective political parties or independent groups at the national level.

Close tooltip