Electoral system for national legislature



List PR

Burundi, CENI, Electoral Code (as amended in 20 May 2019) [in French], accessed 8 May 2020

See Articles 107-108

Burundi, CENI, Decret N° 100/030 du 20 Fevrier 2020 Portant Convotation des Electeurs aux Elections du President de la Republique, des Deputets, des Conselillers Communaux et des Senateurs [in French], accessed 8 May 2020

See Articles 16-17


100 deputies are elected from 18 multi-member constituencies (ranging from 3 to 9 members) using the closed list proportional representation system. Seats are allocated using the d'Hondt method with a national threshold of 2%.

Close tooltip