Electoral Management Design Database

Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam


Model of electoral management

No national elections


Constitution provides for the possibility of election of some of the members of the Legislative Council; however, no real steps have been taken in this direction.


Brunei Darussalam, Constitution 1959 (rev. 2006), accessed 6 June 2021

1. Composition and Membership of the Legislative Council
The Legislative Council shall consist of not more than 45 Members as follows—

a. up to 30 persons who shall be appointed by His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan from the following categories—

i. ex-officio Members who comprise the Prime Minister and all the Ministers appointed under Article 4(3) of this Constitution;

ii. titled persons;

iii. persons who, in His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan’s opinion, have rendered distinguished public service or who are not within sub-paragraph (a)(iv) but who, in his opinion, will be capable of contributing to the deliberations of the Legislative Council;

iv. persons who, in His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan’s opinion, have achieved distinction in the field of religion, management, any profession, business, trade, agriculture, cultural arts or community activities, or who are representatives of particular communities; and

b. up to 15 representatives, the exact number of which shall be determined by His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan, from Brunei and Muara District, Belait District, Tutong District and Temburong District who shall be elected in accordance with the laws relating to elections in force in Brunei Darussalam.

Close tooltip