Electoral Management Design Database




Model of electoral management



Malta, Constitution, accessed 29 March 2022

60.(1) There shall be an Electoral Commission for Malta. (2) The Electoral Commission shall consist of a Chairman, who shall be the person for the time being holding the office of Chief Electoral Commissioner and who shall be appointed to that office from the public service, and such number of members not beingless than four as may be prescribed by any law for the time being in force in Malta.

(3) The members of the Electoral Commission shall be appointed by the President, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, given after he has consulted the Leader of the Opposition.

(4) A person shall not be qualified to hold office as a member of the Electoral Commission if he is a Minister, a Parliamentary Secretary, a member of, or a candidate for election to, the House of Representatives or a public officer. [...]

(9) In the exercise of its functions under this Constitution the Electoral Commission shall not be subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority.

Electoral Management Bodies

Add data
Name of EMB Number of EMB members Term of office EMB members selected by Chair appointed/elected by Party or expert based membership
Electoral Commission 11 3 years President, acting with the advice of the Prime Minister President, acting with the advice of the Prime Minister Expert
Close tooltip