Electoral system family

State of Palestine

State of Palestine


1995 Election Law


Article 5

The territory shall be divided into the following sixteen constituencies: Jerusalem, Jericho, Bethlehem, Hebron, Nablus, Jenin, Tulkarm, Qalqilya, Tubas, Salfit, Ramallah, Gaza North (Jabaliah), Gaza City, Deir El-Balah, Khan Younis, and Rafah. Each of these constituencies shall comprise the corresponding localities, according to the list annexed to this Law. 

The regulations implementing this Law shall establish the number of seats of the Council allocated to each district, which shall be proportional to the number of their inhabitants, subject to a minimum of one for each constituency, and shall also establish which districts shall have some seats specially reserved for Christians and the number of these seats, in addition to one seat for the Palestinian Samaritans in the constituency of Nablus.

Art. 74: Ballot paper marking

The voter must mark with an "X" the box beside the name of the candidate of his or her choice. The voter shall not either mark more than one candidate on the ballot paper for the election of the President, nor more candidates than the number of seats allotted to that constituency on the ballot paper for the election of the members of the Council. 

Article 89: The elected members of the Palestinian Council

1. Subject to paragraph 2 below, the candidates who obtained most votes in each constituency are to be considered elected members of the Palestinian Council. 

2. In any constituency where a minimum number of seats is reserved for Christians, those seats shall be allotted to the Christian candidates who obtained more votes than the rest of the Christian candidates. Nevertheless, there shall be no obstacle for Christians to run as ordinary candidates in the rest of the constituencies.



Close tooltip