Electoral system for national legislature - Slovenia

Electoral system for national legislature
List PR

Members are elected using open list PR system in eight 11-seat constituencies. At the constituency level, the seats are allocated using the Droop quota. The seats that remain unallocated at the constituency level are then allocated to the parties at the national level using the d'Hondt method with an electoral threshold of 4%. The Italian and Hungarian national communities each elect one member using FPTP system. 


Slovenia, National Assembly Elections Act (Official Gazette of the Republic of Slovenia, No. 109/06 - official consolidated text, 54/07 - US decisions, 23/17 and 29/21), accessed 20 April 2022

Articles 90-93

Slovenia, State Elections Commission, The electoral system in Slovenia, accessed 20 April 2022

“The country is divided into eight electoral units for elections to the National Assembly. Each unit is divided into 11 districts; accordingly, each unit returns 11 deputies. The principle enshrined in law is that one candidate is elected in each electoral district. Special electoral units have been formed to serve those areas in which the Italian and Hungarian national communities reside.

Under the National Assembly Elections Act, the election threshold is 4%. Whether a party has reached that threshold is determined by the National Electoral Commission when the seats are apportioned. Seats are apportioned to party lists that have reached that threshold. This process takes places at two levels, as follows:

  • Within an electoral unit, seats are apportioned according to the Droop quota.
  • At the national level, seats are apportioned according to the D’Hondt method.

The Constitution states that voters must be permitted to exercise a certain influence over the allocation of seats to candidates; this is ensured in part by a process whereby those candidates who received the highest number of votes as a proportion of the total number of votes in the electoral districts in which they stood are elected from the list of candidates (relative to the seats received). Voters may only opt for that candidate from the list who stood for election in their voting district.”