Board of Advisers

The Board of Advisers consists of eminent personalities and experts who assist the Council of Member States in its governance of International IDEA.

Christine Bell (United Kingdom), Assistant Principal, Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Edinburgh.

Christine Bell 

Emine Bozkurt (Netherlands), Dutch politician; former Member of the European Parliament.

Ermine Bozkurt 

Radnaa Burmaa (Mongolia), Member of the State Great Khural (The Parliament of Mongolia), Chair of the Standing Committee on Petitions of SGK, chair of MONPAC (Mongolian Parliamentarians Against Corruption); former non staff Advisor to the President of Mongolia, Former Executive Director, Women for Social Progress Movement.

Ms Radnaa Burmaa (Mongolia)

Cheick Modibo Diarra (Mali), Chair of the Africa Legal Network; Goodwill ambassador for UNESCO; Former Prime Minister of Mali; former Chair of Microsoft Africa.

Cheick Modibo Diarra 

Hoda Elsadda (Egypt), Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Cairo University; founding member and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Women and Memory Forum. She was a member of the 50-Committee that drafted the Egyptian constitution endorsed in a referendum in January 2014.

Hoda Elsadda 

Antonio Núñez García-Sauco (Spain), former Ambassador of Spain to Sweden,  former ambassador to Equatorial Guinea, Romania, Australia and Vienna (UN), where he was chairman of the IAEA Board of Governors.


Ambassador Antonio Núñez García-Sauco

Nicholas Fink Haysom (South Africa), Deputy Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Afghanistan (Political Affairs); former Director for Political, Peacekeeping and Humanitarian Affairs in the Executive Office of the Secretary-General; former Head of the Office of Constitutional Support in the United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI); former Chief Legal Adviser throughout Mr. Mandela’s presidency until 1999. 

Mr Nicholas Fink Haysom (South Africa)

Bassma Kodmani (Syria), Executive Director of the Arab Reform Initiative, participated in the founding of the Syrian National Council in August 2011   

Bassma Kodmani

Pippa Norris (United Kingdom), McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; ARC Laureate Fellow and Professor of Government and International Relations, University of Sydney; Director of the Electoral Integrity Project.

Pippa Norris 

Rafael Roncagliolo Orbegoso (Peru), Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Peru (2011-2013); former Head of Mission of International IDEA, Peru and Andean Region; former Secretary General of the Asociacíon Transparencia.

Mr Rafael Roncagliolo Orbegoso (Peru)

Surin Pitsuwan (Thailand), Professor Emeritus at Thammasat University, former Secretary General of the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)     

Surin Pitsuwan

S. Y. Quraishi (India), Former Chief Election Commissioner. Dr. S. Y. Quraishi was the 17th Chief Election Commissioner of India. He has delivered lectures on democracy and elections worldwide and has authored a monumental book 'An Undocumented Wonder - the Making of the Great Indian Election'. He is currently at the India Institute, King's College London as FICCI Fellow, studying democracy and electoral challenges in south Asia, focussing on electoral reforms.

Dr. S.Y. Quraishi 

Pierre Schori (Sweden), Swedish Diplomat, member of the European Council on Foreign Affairs; Chair of the Board of International Alert; former Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General and Head of Mission in Côte d’Ivoire; former Swedish Minister for International Development Coorperation, Migration and Asylum Policy and former Swedish Deputy Foreign Minister.

Pierre Schori 

Honorary Board Member

Aung San Suu Kyi, General Secretary of the National League for Democracy in Burma and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate (biographical sketch)

Former Board Members

The following members of the board have completed their terms of office:

Martti Ahtisaari, Finland Martti Ahtisaari

Ignacio Astarloa Huarte-Mendicoa, Spain

Ignacio Astarloa Huarte-Mendicoa

Azyumardi Azra, Indonesia   

Prof Azyumardi Azra

Michelle Bachelet, Chile

Michele Bachelet

Brigalia Bam, South Africa

Brigalia Bam

Jermyn Brooks, United Kingdom

Jermyn Brooks

Jerzy Buzek (Poland)

Jerzy Buzek
Cheryl Carolus, South Africa Cheryl Carolus

Thomas Carothers, United States

Thomas Carothers

Charlotte Cederschiöld, Sweden   

Charlotte Cederschiöld

Annie Chikwanha, Zimbabwe

Annie Chikwanha
Ricardo Díez-Hochleitner, Spain Ricardo Díez-Hochleitner
Henry de Boulay Forde, Barbados Henry de Boulay Forde
Adama Dieng, Senegal Adama Dieng
Kaci Kullmann Five, Norway Kaci Kullman Five

Jos van Gennip, Netherlands

Jos van Gennip

Ashraf Ghani, Afghanistan

Ashraf Ghani
Manohar Singh Gill, India
Dr. M.S. Gil
Frene Ginwala, South Africa Frene Ginwala

Andreas Gross, Switzerland 

Mr Andreas Gross, Member of the Swiss Parliament

Lena Hjelm-Wallén, Sweden

Lena Hjelm-Wallén
Harri Holkeri, Finland Harri Holkeri
Colin Hughes, Australia Colin Hughes

Kuniko Inoguchi, Japan

Kuniko Inoguchi
Monica Jimenez de Barros, Chile Monica Jimenez de Barros

Subhash Kashyap, India

Dr Subhash Kashyap, former Secretary-General of the Lower House of Indian Parliament and Constitutional Adviser to the Indian Government

Legwaila Joseph Manson John Legwaila, Botswana

Legwaila Joseph Manson John Legwaila,

Soledad Loaeza (Mexico)

Soledad Loaeza
Manmohan Malhoutra, India Manmohan Malhoutra

Lethebe Maine, Botswana

Lourdes Flores Nano, Peru

Lourdes Flores Nano
Erling Olsen, Denmark Erling Olsen

Adebayo Olukoshi, Nigeria

Professor Adebayo Olukoshi

Maureen O'Neil, Canada

Maureen O'Neil

Sirpa Pietikäinen, Finland

Sirpa Pietikäinen

Shridath Ramphal, Guyana

Sir Shridath Ramphal

Andrés Rozental, Mexico

Andrés Rozental

Cheryl Saunders, Australia

Cheryl Saunders

Henning Scherf, Germany

Henning Scherf

Hugh D. Segal, Canada

Hugh Segal

Lourdes Sola, Brazil

Lourdes Sola

Lord David Steel, United Kingdom

Lord Steel of Aikwood

Thorvald Stoltenberg, Norway

Ambassador Thorvald Stoltenberg

Cassam Uteem, Mauritius

Cassam Uteem

Margot Wallström, Sweden

Margot Wallstrom
Quick links: